Marriage Licenses

Intentions may be filed in any Town Clerk’s office in Massachusetts for Massachusetts weddings.

Both parties must be present with photo ID when filling out the Marriage Intentions.

  • Come prepared with the correct spelling of parents names in full, including middle names.
  • Applicants must provide the chosen surname (last name) to be used after marriage

Waiting Period

There is a mandatory three (3) day waiting period from the date Intentions are filed and the date the license can be issued.

Legal Impediments

Individuals must be eighteen (18) years of age and not blood related. Certain relationships are prohibited by Massachusetts stature and others may be prohibited by statutes where the party resides or intends to continue to reside

The license is only valid for sixty (60) days from the date you file your Intention.

A permanent Record of Marriage is maintained by the community where Intentions were filed, as well as Vital Records of Boston.

Fees

For entering Notice of Intention of Marriage and issuing certificate thereof – $10.00

Additional Certified Marriage License copies are $5.00 each